ICMIM 2023 Speakers

coming soon...





Previous Speakers

Prof. William C. Tang
University of California, USA

William C. Tang received his BS (1980), MS (1982), and PhD (1990) degrees in Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences from the University of California at Berkeley. His seminal thesis and invention of the electrostatic comb drive has been internationally recognized as one of the key building blocks of Micro-electromechanical Systems (MEMS) sensors and actuators, and is the most widely-cited work in the field for over two decades. Since his graduation, Dr. Tang contributed to the automotive industry at Ford Motor Company and space exploration at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory. Subsequently, he served as the DARPA Program Manager for various MEMS programs, the single largest federal funding source for MEMS at the time. In 2002, he was appointed a Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Electrical Engineering & Computer Science at the University of California, Irvine. Later, he was also jointly appointed with the Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering and the Materials Science and Engineering Departments. He was the first Associate Dean for Research in the Henry Samueli School of Engineering from 2008 to 2013. His research interests include micro- and nano-scale biomedical engineering, neural engineering, neuropathology and clinical applications. He is a Senior Member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, a Fellow and Chartered Physicist with the Institute of Physics, and a Fellow of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering.

Prof. Masayoshi Tonouchi
Osaka University, Japan

Masayoshi Tonouchi received the B.S. and M.S. and Dr. E. degrees form Osaka University, Japan, in 1983, 1985 and 1988, respectively. From 1988 to 1989 he worked at the Faculty of Engineering Science of the same university. From 1989 to 1994 he joined the Faculty of Computer Science and System Engineering, Kyushu Institute of Technology, Japan. In 1994, he moved to Kansai Advanced Research Center, Communications Research Laboratory, Japan. From 1996 to 2000, he was an associate professor at the Research Center for Superconducting Materials and Electronics, Osaka University. Currently he is a professor in Institute of Laser Engineering, Osaka University and a concurrent professor of Nanjing University. His current research interests include ultrafast optical and terahertz science of strongly correlated electron systems and nanomaterials, and development-and-applications of terahertz systems such as the laser terahertz emission microscope, compact THz time-domain spectroscopy systems, and others. He is a member of the Optical Society of America, Materials Research Society, the Japan Society of Applied Physics, the Physical Society of Japan, and the Institute of Electronics, Information and Communication Engineers. He is an associate editor for Journal of Applied Physics, AIP since Jan.1st, 2015. He chaired many international conferences such as OTST 2013.

Prof. Takashige Omatsu
Fellow of Japan Society of Applied Physics
Fellow of Optical Society of America
Fellow of SPIE
Chiba University, Japan

Takashige Omatsu (B.S. (1983), Ph.D. (1992) from the University of Tokyo) is a professor of nano-science division of a faculty of engineering in Chiba University.His research intersts cover a variety of areas, such as nonlinear optics, solid-state and fiber lasers, singular optics, and super-resolution spectroscopy. Recent work has focused on chiral control of nano-structures by angular momentum of light. Such chiral nano-structures will potentially provide a new scientific aspect to metamaterials, plasmonics, and silicon photonics, and they might also enable us to develop nanoscale imaging systems with chiral selectivity.
He has already published >100 refereed journal articles, and he has performed >20 invited presentations of major international conferences, including CLEO, CLEO Pacific-Rim, CLEO Europe, LEOS, and ICALEO meetings. He has been appointed as an Associate Editor of Optics Express during 2006-2012.
He is also on the editorial board of Applied Physics Express.
He is currently working as a steering committee member of the conference on the laser and optoelectronics pacific-rim (CLEO Pacific-rim).
Professor Omatsu is Fellow of the Japan Society of Applied Physics, Fellow of the Optical Society of America, and Fellow of SPIE. He is also Visiting Professor, Xinjiang Normal University, China.


Prof. Da-Jeng Yao, National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan
ASME Fellow, RSC Fellow
Editorial advisory board member for Biomicrofluidics
Associate Editor Board member for IET NanoBiotechnology

Dr. Yao is a Professor at Department of Power Mechanical Engineering, also an adjunct Professor at Institute of NanoEngineering and MicroSystems (NEMS), Department of Engineering and System Science, and Department of Physical Education, National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan. He was born at Taipei, Taiwan in 1969. He received his Ph.D. from Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, University of California at Los Angeles (UCLA) in 2001.
There are more than 80 multidisciplinary projects running or completed under his research team with other organizations (NTHU LS, CHEM, EE, PME, NEMS, and ESS, NTU ME, NCTU ME, Chang-Gung Hospital, and ITRI, etc.). More than 80 journal papers were published at top journal among this research field, including Biosensors and Bioelectronics, Biomicrofludics, Nanotechnology, Applied Energy, Journal of Micromechanics and Microengineering, and Lap on a chip, etc. He got Wu-Da-Yu Memorial Award (Young Investigator) from National Science Council in 2009, Shen-Yin award in 2010, and Young Researcher from Society of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics of the Republic of China in 2011, National Innovation Award in 2012 and in 2014, Nanoscience Award by Publishing Division of Cognizure in 2015, 2nd prize of Xprize (US10M award) by Qualcomm with HTC team in 2017, and MOST excellent research award in 2020. He was awarded as ASME fellow since 2013, and RSC fellow since 2018.